Home >News >India >Railways to change timings of some passenger trains to accommodate Mumbai-Ahmedabad Tejas Express

Indian Railways’ Western Railways zone has issued a statement stating that it is going to change the timings of some passenger trains plying on the Mumbai-Ahmedabad section to accommodate the running of Mumbai-Ahmedabad Tejas Express.

The changes in the timings will be implemented from 19 January the day on which Indian Railways’ second privately operated train will begun its regular run.

The change in the timetable of the trains have been made keeping in view of the operational requirements and the convenience of passengers. The trains will run with changed timing of 5 to 10 minutes at intermediate stations.

The changes have been done at few specific intermediate stations/halts of 13 trains bound towards Mumbai from Ahmedabad to adjust Tejas Express in the regular operations. Train No. 12655 Ahmedabad – MGR Chennai Central Navjeevan Express will run with 25 minutes delay and Train No. 19016 Porbandar – Mumbai Central Saurashtra Express will run with 55 minutes delay from Ahmedabad but will still reach at their respective destinations o¬n their present arrival time.

Due to this, 16 Mail/Express trains and 4 MEMU bound towards Ahmedabad from Mumbai will run with changed timings of 5 to 10 minutes only at intermediate stations.

A senior railways official said that despite minimal timing changes at few specific intermediate stations, there has been increase of just 5 minutes in the duration of journeys of 2 Mail/Express trains and 2 MEMU trains o¬nly.

All other affected trains will reach their destination at their present arrival time.

The railways will conduct an inaugural run of the Tejas Express between Mumbai-Ahmedabad on 17 January.The new Tejas Express will run six day a week except on Thursdays.

On its inaugural run on 17 January, Train no. 09426 Ahmedabad-Mumbai Central Tejas express will leave Ahmedabad at 09:30 hrs and will reach Mumbai Central at 16:00 hrs .

Similarly, in return direction, train No. 09425 Mumbai Central -Ahmedabad will depart from Mumbai Central at 17:15 hrs and will arrive Ahmedabad at 23:30 hrs.

On its regular run from 19 January, Train No. 82902 Ahmedabad -Mumbai Central Tejas Express will leave Ahmedabad at 06:40 hrs and will reach Mumbai Central at 13:10 hrs.

In return direction train No. 82901 Mumbai Central-Ahmedabad Tejas Express (Except Thursday) will depart Mumbai Central at 15:40 hrs and will arrive Ahmedabad at 21:55 hrs .

The first private train Tejas Express is operational on the Delhi-Lucknow route.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout