Active Stocks
Thu Sep 21 2023 15:54:10
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 127.8 -0.39%
  1. HDFC Bank share price
  2. 1,553.6 -0.66%
  1. NTPC share price
  2. 238.95 -1.1%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 201.8 -1.42%
  1. ITC share price
  2. 447.4 -1.24%
Business News/ News / India/  New Parliament building: Who all are attending, routes to avoid, importance of Sengol, and more

India's new Parliament building is scheduled to be inaugurated on Sunday, 28 May by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla. Ahead of the inauguration, Adheenams from Tamil Nadu, handed over the ‘Sengol’, a historic scepter, to PM Narendra Modi.

“As a symbol of the transfer of power, special 'Sengol' was made by holy Thiruvaduthurai Adheenam in 1947. I am delighted that the symbol of India's great tradition, Sengol will be installed in the New Parliament Building. This Sengol will keep reminding us that we have to walk on the path of duty and remain answerable to the public," PM Modi said. 

New Parliament Inauguration: Importance of Sengol

‘Sengol’ gained significance in India when the Indian government announced that the sceptre will be installed next to the Lok Sabha Speaker’s seat in the new Parliament building on May 28. 

The narrative that has gained prominence over the past few days is that the ‘Sengol’ was handed over to Jawaharlal Nehru by Adheenam of Tamil Nadu in August 1947 to signify the transfer of power from the British to the Indians.

It was kept in the Nehru Gallery of the Allahabad Museum and has been moved to Delhi for its installation in the new building of Parliament.

Several Opposition parties boycott new Parliament inauguration

Over the inauguration, the opposition parties have raised objections claiming that the President of India, Droupadi Murmu, and not the Prime Minister should inaugurate the new Parliament building

As many as 20 Opposition parties, including Congress, the Trinamool Congress (TMC), and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), have issued a boycott call. These parties include the Indian National Congress (INC), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Shiv Sena (UBT), Samajwadi Party (SP), Communist Party of India, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Kerala Congress (Mani), Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), Trinamool Congress (TMC), Janata Dal (United), Nationalist Congress Party, Communist Party of India (Marxist), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Indian Union Muslim League, National Conference, Revolutionary Socialist Party, and Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam. 

List of parties that are joining the inauguration 

The government has also received a confirmed list of 25 political parties, which includes Naveen Patnaik's Biju Janata Dal (BJD), HD Deve Gowda of Janata Dal (Secular), and other non-National Democratic Alliance (NDA) parties that will attend the inauguration ceremony.

These parties include Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP), Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Shiv Sena (Shinde faction), All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), National People's Party (NPP), Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), Mizo National Front (MNF), Jananayak Janata Party (JJP), All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU), Rashtriya Lok Janshakti Party (RLJP), Republican Party of India (RPI), Apna Dal (S), India Makkal Kalvi Munnetra Kazhagam (IMKMK), Tamil Maanila Congress, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP-Ram Vilas), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), ITFT (Tripura), Bodo People’s Party (BPP), Pattali Makkal Kacchi (PMK), Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP). 

New Parliament Inauguration: Avoid these routes today

Delhi Police has also made special traffic arrangements in view of the inauguration of the new Parliament building on May 28. According to the traffic advisory, the New Delhi district will be treated as a controlled area. Only public transport vehicles, civil service aspirants, bonafide residents, labeled vehicles, and emergency vehicles will be allowed to move in the New Delhi area. 

"The area enclosed by Mother Teresa Ceresent Road, roundabout Talkatora, Baba Kharak Singh Marg, roundabout Gol Dak Khana, Ashok Road, roundabout Patel Chowk, Ashok Road, roundabout Windsor Place, Janpath, roundabout MLNP, Akbar Road, roundabout Gol Methi, Akbar Road, roundabout GKP, Teen Murti Marg, roundabout Teen Murti and Mother Teresa Crescent Road will be treated as regulated area," the advisory said.

It added that only civil service aspirants, bonafide residents, labeled vehicles, and emergency vehicles will be allowed to move within this area.

Hence, the Delhi traffic police urged people to plan their journey accordingly and avoid the New Delhi district from 5:30 am to 3 pm.

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Updated: 28 May 2023, 07:14 AM IST
Next Story
Recommended For You
Switch to the Mint app for fast and personalized news - Get App