Home / News / India /  PM Modi congratulates newly sworn-in ministers, shares photo of revamped Cabinet

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter on Wednesday to congratulate all the new ministers inducted into the Union Cabinet after a major overhaul. PM Modi now has 77 ministers, nearly half of them new.

"I congratulate all the colleagues who have taken oath today and wish them the very best for their ministerial tenure. We will continue working to fulfil aspirations of the people and build a strong and prosperous India," the PM wrote on the microblogging site.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah also took to Twitter to congratulate the new Cabinet inductees.

"I have faith that the entire Cabinet under Narendra Modi ji's leadership will work with absolute diligence to take the government's policies to the people of the country and contribute to making Aatmanirbhar Bharat a reality," Shah said in a tweet in Hindi.

36 ministers join team Modi

As many as 36 new ministers have joined the Narendra Modi cabinet and four high-profile ministers have quit today including Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, IT and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, and I&B Minister Prakash Javadekar.

A total of 15 individuals were sworn in as ministers in the Union Cabinet and another 28 as ministers of state (MoS) by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Anurag Thakur and Hardeep Puri are among 15 new cabinet ministers.

Sarbananda Sonowal, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Narayan Rane, Bhupender Yadav and Ashwini Vaishnaw were also sworn in as cabinet ministers.

This is the first reshuffle in the Council of Ministers by PM Modi since he assumed charge for a second term in May 2019.

With this reset, PM Modi has brought in young faces and has also given representation to various social groups and regions in the reji.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.
Recommended For You
Edit Profile
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout