Home / News / India /  Eminent scientist S Somanath appointed ISRO chief for 3 yrs; to succeed K Sivan
Listen to this article

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet today approved the appointment of eminent rocket scientist S Somanath, Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), to the post of Secretary, Department of Space and Chairman, Space Commission (ISRO), for a combined tenure of three years from the date of joining the post. 

It is inclusive of an extension in tenure beyond the age of superannuation in the public interest, or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

Somanath will succeed K Sivan who completes his extended tenure on Friday. The post of the ISRO chairman, the Space Secretary and the Space Commission chief is held by one person only.

Sivan was in January 2018 appointed as the ISRO chief, Secretary of the Department of Space and Chairman Space Commission. He was in December 2020 given a one-year extension till January 14, 2022.

Somanath will be the 10th chairman of the premier space organisation. He took charge as the VSSC’s head on January 22, 2018, after a two and a half years stint as the Director of Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), Valiamala, Thiruvananathapuram.

With ANI, PTI inputs

Also read: Gaganyaan mission: ISRO conducts qualification test of Cryogenic Engine

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.
Post your comment

Recommended For You

Trending Stocks

Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout