Business News/ News / India/  Traffic Alert for Parliament inauguration: Avoid these routes today

Ahead of the new Parliament Building inauguration on May 28, Delhi Police issued a traffic advisory, asking people to make necessary adjustments and avoid New Delhi District from 5.30 am to 3 pm on Sunday, according to a report published by the news agency ANI. 

A number of VVIPs/VIPs and other dignitaries are likely to attend the functions/ceremonies planned in connection with the inauguration. Special traffic arrangements will be in place for the smooth conduct of the functions.

The area of the New Delhi District will be treated as a controlled area. Only public transport vehicles, Civil Service aspirants, bonafide residents, labelled vehicles and emergency vehicles will be allowed to move into New Delhi District, the traffic advisory read. 

The area enclosed by Mother Teresa Ceresent Road, R/A Talkatora, Baba Kharak Singh Marg, R/A Gol Dak Khana, Ashok Road, R/A Patel Chowk, Ashok Road, R/A Windsor Place, Janpath, R/A MLNP, Akbar Road, R/A Gol Methi, Akbar Road, R/A GKP, Teen Murti Marg, R/A Teen Murti & Mother Teresa Crescent Road will be treated as regulated area, while only Civil Service aspirants, bonafide residents, labelled vehicles and emergency vehicles will be allowed to move within this area.

The advisory further stated that road users are requested to plan their journey in advance accordingly and avoid New Delhi District from 0530 hours to 1500 hours, for their own convenience.

“The general public and motorists are advised to keep patience, observe traffic rules and road discipline and follow directions of traffic personnel deployed at all intersections and remain updated through Delhi Traffic Police Facebook page, Twitter handle, Website and Helpline," police said.

Civil Service aspirants whose examination centres are located in New Delhi District are requested to plan their journey a little early and keep sufficient time in hand to avoid inconvenience, police added. 

It is pertinent to note that at least 21 opposition parties have decided to boycott the PM's decision to preside over the inauguration ceremony instead of President Droupadi Murmu. They said that the inauguration of the building without President Droupadi Murmu "insults the high office of the President, and violates the letter and spirit of the Constitution".

Meanwhile, the Centre has received a confirmed list of 25 political parties, including some which are not a part of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), that will participate in the inauguration ceremony.


(With ANI inputs)

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Updated: 28 May 2023, 06:32 AM IST
Recommended For You
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My Reads Watchlist Feedback Redeem a Gift Card Logout