Home / News / India /  Tripura Polls 2023: Dr Manik Saha will contest from the Town Bordowali, says BJP

The Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) on 28 January announced that Tripura Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha will contest the upcoming state assembly polls from the Town Bordowali constituency.

The party also announced the candidates for 48 out of the total 60 seats for the Tripura Polls. Twelve candidates are to be announced soon.

Adding more, BJP said that Union Minister Pratima Bhoumik will contest from Dhanpur while Md Moboshar Ali who joined the party on Friday will contest from Kailashahar. The state BJP chief Rajib Bhattacharjee will contest the polls from Banamalipur.

ALSO READ: Tripura: BJP candidate list to get finalised today at meeting with PM Modi

The Bharatiya Janata Party Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting was held on January 27 under the chairmanship of BJP National President Jagat Prakash Nadda.

In the meeting, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah and other members of the CEC were present.

the CEC has given its approval on the names for the upcoming assembly elections in 2023 in Tripura.

In Tripura, the BJP first took office as the state's head of state in 2018, ending the CPI(M)'s 20-year reign.

Elections for the 60-member Tripura assembly are scheduled for February 16. Nominations must be submitted by January 30. On March 2, the vote tally will be discussed.

With ANI inputs.

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Recommended For You
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout