Active Stocks
Thu Sep 21 2023 15:54:10
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 127.8 -0.39%
  1. HDFC Bank share price
  2. 1,553.6 -0.66%
  1. NTPC share price
  2. 238.95 -1.1%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 201.8 -1.42%
  1. ITC share price
  2. 447.4 -1.24%
Business News/ News / India/  Yogi Adityanath's UP government cancels all traffic challans between 2017 to 2021. Details here

The Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath-led Uttar Pradesh government has announced that they have decided to cancel all traffic chalan for private and commercial vehicle owners pending from 2017 to 2021.

According to the official document, the cancellation applies on challans issued between 1 January 2017, and 31 December 2021, regardless of the vehicle type. This includes cases that are currently pending in various courts.

According to reports, the Transport Commissioner of Uttar Pradesh, Chandra Bhushan Singh, has instructed all regional transport officers to withdraw the traffic challans from the portal once they receive the court's list of abated cases. 

The decision by the Uttar Pradesh government is set to provide relief to many owners of private and commercial vehicles in the state. 

The government has issued instructions to all divisional transport offices to remove pending challans from the e-challan portal after receiving the court's list.

The CM Yogi Adityanath's decision has been welcomed by lakhs of vehicle owners, particularly those who were previously charged with violating traffic rules.

The Transport Commissioner said that this cancellation of old pending challans is in accordance with UP Ordinance Number 2 of June 2023. It may be noted that farmers in Noida were protesting for the cancellation of such challans.

Detailed information can be obtained by visiting the official website of UP Traffic Police, and for this, only the vehicle number is required. Moreover, if drivers believe that a wrong challan has been issued, they can also file a complaint directly on the website.

A mobile notification is also sent when a vehicle's challan is deducted, to ensure prompt action. 

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath recently celebrated his birthday on 5 June. The 22nd Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh first entered the Lok Sabha in 1998, representing the Gorakhpur constituency, and has been re-elected five times since then.


Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Updated: 09 Jun 2023, 05:44 PM IST
Next Story
Recommended For You
Switch to the Mint app for fast and personalized news - Get App