Active Stocks
Fri Sep 29 2023 15:59:14
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 129 1.78%
  1. NTPC share price
  2. 245.65 3.3%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 199.85 -0.45%
  1. State Bank Of India share price
  2. 598.7 1.48%
  1. Wipro share price
  2. 406.25 0.11%
Business News/ News / India/  West Bengal bypolls: Mamata Banerjee's TMC wins all 4 assembly seats

West Bengal bypolls: Mamata Banerjee's TMC wins all 4 assembly seats

The Election Commission has declared results of all four constituencies — Dinhata, Khardah, Santipur, Gosaba

Bengal chief minister Mamata BanerjeePremium
Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee

West Bengal bypolls results: Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress has won all four assembly seats — Dinhata, Khardah, Santipur, Gosaba — in by-elections.  

TMC's Sovandeb Chattopadhyay won the Khardaha assembly seat by a margin of over 93,000 votes, whereas in Dinhata constituency, TMC's Udayan Guha won by a margin of over 1.6 lakh votes.

In Dinhata, BJP's Shok Mandal secured 25,387 votes, while TMC's Udayan Guha secured 1,89,153 votes. In Khardaha, TMC won with 1,13,647 votes, whereas BJP got only 20,198 votes.

Taking to Twitter, Banerjee said, "My heartiest congratulations to all the four winning candidates! This victory is people's victory, as it shows how Bengal will always choose development and unity over propaganda and hate politics. With people's blessings, we promise to continue taking Bengal to greater heights!"

TMC leader Derek O'Brien also claimed victory of all party candidates in West Bengal. "Beyond the headlines of TMC's HUGE WIN in 4 bypolls, some nuggets neck and neck fight for 2nd/3rd position between BJP and CPIM. BJP lost in Minister of State for Home's own booth. Margin in Dinhata: from minus 57 in May to 1.5 lakh. Shah ain't going to Bengal till next Diwali?" Derek tweeted.

Santipur and Dinhata seats fell vacant after BJP MP Jagannath Sarkar and Nishith Pramanik resigned from the assembly, respectively. Whereas, elections on the other two seats are being held as All India Trinamool Congress' (TMC) MLAs Kajal Sinha (Khardaha) and Jayanta Naskar (Gosaba) died due to Covid. 

TMC leader Sovandeb Chattopadhyay, who had resigned from the Bhabanipur constituency to facilitate Mamata Banerjee's election to the Assembly, is fighting from Khardaha.

The TMC registered a landslide victory in polls held earlier this year, winning 213 seats in the 294-member West Bengal assembly. The BJP emerged as the second-largest party with 77 seats.

With agency inputs 

"Exciting news! Mint is now on WhatsApp Channels 🚀 Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest financial insights!" Click here!

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Updated: 02 Nov 2021, 04:41 PM IST
Next Story
Recommended For You
Switch to the Mint app for fast and personalized news - Get App