Active Stocks
Fri Sep 22 2023 15:58:38
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 126.7 -0.86%
  1. HDFC Bank share price
  2. 1,529.2 -1.57%
  1. State Bank Of India share price
  2. 598.1 1.67%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 199.1 -1.34%
  1. Tata Motors share price
  2. 621.1 -0.93%
Business News/ News / Karnataka swearing-in ceremony on Saturday: Who's invited and who's not?

Siddaramaiah will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on Saturday, 20 May, while DK Shivakumar will be taking oath as his deputy. Some legislators will also be taking oath as ministers in the new Karnataka cabinet. However, both the chief minister and deputy chief minister-elect are in Delhi to discuss who would be inducted into the new cabinet and the allocation of portfolios.

The oath of office will be administered to Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar by Governor Thawar Chand Gehlot at Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru at 12:30 pm. Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge has invited several like-minded parties for the swearing-in ceremony of Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar.

Who are invited at the Karnataka swearing-in ceremony?

-Former Congress Presidents Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi

-General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi, and several Congress chief ministers and leaders are expected to attend the event.

-Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin

-West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee

-Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar 

-Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav

-Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik

-NCP chief Sharad Pawar

-Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav

-Telangana CM K Chandrashekar Rao

-Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren

-Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray 

-National Conference chief Farooq Abdullah

-Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu of Himachal Pradesh

-Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel

-Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot 

The event may turn out to be a show of strength for Opposition parties amid unity efforts to take on the ruling BJP in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. However, looking at the attendees' list, it might be a little difficult for Congress to put up a strong Opposition front.

Leaders who will remain absent from the ceremony

According to the reports, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao have not been invited for the swearing-in ceremony of Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar. Mamata Banerjee might miss the event because of her prior commitments.

The names of Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati have not appeared on the guest list.

In the first cabinet meeting after the swearing-in ceremony, the Congress is expected to make an announcement on the five guarantees it had promised in its manifesto.

(With agency inputs)

"Exciting news! Mint is now on WhatsApp Channels 🚀 Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest financial insights!" Click here!

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Updated: 20 May 2023, 06:30 AM IST
Next Story
Recommended For You
Switch to the Mint app for fast and personalized news - Get App