Active Stocks
Fri May 24 2024 15:59:27
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 174.80 -0.37%
  1. NTPC share price
  2. 374.85 0.68%
  1. State Bank Of India share price
  2. 828.60 -0.45%
  1. ITC share price
  2. 436.10 -1.16%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 318.50 -0.39%
Business News/ News / Nobel Peace Prize 2023: Jailed Iranian activist Narges Mohammadi awarded for ‘fight against oppression of women’

Nobel Peace Prize 2023: Jailed Iranian activist Narges Mohammadi awarded for ‘fight against oppression of women’

‘This year’s Nobel Peace Prize also recognises the hundreds of thousands of people who have demonstrated against the theocratic regime’s policies of discrimination and oppression targeting women,’ the Norwegian Nobel Committee said.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee decided to confer the prize on her after months of protest in Iran over the death of 22-year-old Mahsa AminiPremium
The Norwegian Nobel Committee decided to confer the prize on her after months of protest in Iran over the death of 22-year-old Mahsa Amini

Jailed Iranian women rights' activist Narges Mohammadi has been conferred with the 2023 Nobel Peace Prize, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced on October 6. 

The top honour has been conferred upon her for the “fight against the oppression of women in Iran and her fight to promote human rights and freedom for all", the committee said in a release.

Mohammadi, currently imprisoned by the Iranian authorities, was arrested in November last year she after attended a memorial for a victim of violent 2019 protests.

Also Read: Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to Norwegian author Jon Fosse

"This prize is first and foremost a recognition of the very important work of a whole movement in Iran with with its undisputed leader, Nargis Mohammadi," said Berit Reiss-Andersen, the chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee who announced the prize in Oslo. 

Exciting news! Mint is now on WhatsApp Channels. Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest financial insights! Click here!

"The impact of the prize is not for the Nobel committee to decide upon. We hope that it is an encouragement to continue the work in whichever form this movement finds to be fitting."

Reiss-Andersen said Mohammadi has been imprisoned 13 times and convicted five times. In total, she has been sentenced to 31 years in prison, he noted.

The decision to honour her also comes in the backdrop of months of protests in Iran over the death of a 22-year-old Mahsa Amini, a Kurdish woman who was reportedly detained by the country's morality police for violating the strict hijab norms. While rights' activists linked her death to the moral police's action, the Iranian authorities have denied their role.

Notably, Mohammadi is the 19th woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize and the second Iranian woman, after human rights activist Shirin Ebadi won the award in 2003.

There was no immediate reaction from Iranian state television and other state-controlled media. Some semiofficial news agencies acknowledged Mohammadi’s win in online messages, citing foreign press reports.

Before being jailed, Mohammadi was vice president of the banned Defenders of Human Rights Center in Iran. She has been close to Ebadi, who founded the center.

In 2018, Mohammadi, an engineer, was awarded the 2018 Andrei Sakharov Prize.

The Nobel Prizes carry a cash award of 11 million Swedish kronor (about $1 million). Winners also receive an 18-carat gold medal and diploma at the award ceremonies in December.

The winner of the prestigious Nobel Peace Prize is chosen by a panel of experts in Norway from a list of just over 350 nominations.

Last year's prize was won by human rights activists from Ukraine, Belarus and Russia, in what was seen as a strong rebuke to Russian President Vladimir Putin and his Belarusian counterpart and ally.

Other previous winners include Nelson Mandela, Barack Obama, Mikhail Gorbachev, Aung San Suu Kyi and the United Nations.

Unlike the other Nobel prizes that are selected and announced in Stockholm, founder Alfred Nobel decreed that the peace prize be decided and awarded in Oslo by the five-member Norwegian Nobel Committee. The independent panel is appointed by the Norwegian parliament.

The peace prize is the fifth of this year's prizes to be announced. A day earlier, the Nobel committee awarded Norwegian writer Jon Fosse the prize for literature. On Wednesday, the chemistry prize went to U.S. scientists Moungi Bawendi, Louis Brus and Alexei Ekimov.

The physics prize went Tuesday to French-Swedish physicist Anne L’Huillier, French scientist Pierre Agostini and Hungarian-born Ferenc Krausz. Hungarian-American Katalin Karikó and American Drew Weissman won the Nobel Prize in medicine on Monday.

Nobels season ends next week with the announcement of the winner of the economics prize, formally known as the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

(With AP inputs)

You are on Mint! India's #1 news destination (Source: Press Gazette). To learn more about our business coverage and market insights Click Here!

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Published: 06 Oct 2023, 02:38 PM IST
Next Story footLogo
Recommended For You