Lok Sabha Elections 2024: ‘Let’s carry out our duty as Indians,’ Shah Rukh Khan urges people to exercise their franchise

  • As Maharashtra prepares to vote on May 20, Bollywood actors have encouraged people to cast their ballots and fulfill their duty as citizens of India.

First Published19 May 2024
Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan. (ANI Photo)
Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan. (ANI Photo)(ANI )

As Maharashtra prepares for the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections on May 20, Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan has urged everyone to vote and to “carry out duty as Indians”.

The actor further highlighted the significance of each vote and encouraged people to seize this chance to make their voices heard. In a post on X, Bollywood superstar wrote, “As responsible Indian citizens we must exercise our right to vote this Monday in Maharashtra. Let’s carry out our duty as Indians and vote keeping our country’s best interests in mind. Go forth Promote, our right to Vote.”

Also Read: 'BJP will lose majority only when...': Prashant Kishor predicts 'massive advantage' to NDA in Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Moreover, Salman Khan also urged people to vote in his post. "I exercise 365 days a year no matter what and now I'm going to exercise my right to vote on the 20th of May no matter what. So do whatever you want to do man, but go and vote and don't trouble your Bharat Mata .. Bharat Mata ki Jai," he wrote on X.

Actor Neil Nitin Mukesh has urged people to come out in large numbers and exercise their right to vote in Lok Sabha polls.

Also Read: Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Ratan Tata urges Mumbaikars to vote on May 20: ‘Monday is voting day!’

Urging the people to vote, he shared a video in which he said that his daughter told him about a holiday on Monday. However, he asserted that it was his duty to make her and others understand that it is a "voting day".

He wrote in the caption, “Yaad rakhiye MONDAY chutthi nahi hai VOTING Day hai..Please cast your votes for the Lok Sabha Election 2024 Election Date: 20th May 2024Voting Time: 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.”

Forty-nine constituencies across eight states will vote in the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections on May 20. Bihar, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, and the union territories of Jammu, Kashmir, and Ladakh will participate in this phase.

Also Read: 'Kejriwal will vote for Congress': Rahul Gandhi's 'interesting' observation for Lok Sabha Elections 2024 | 10 points

In Maharashtra, thirteen constituencies—Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South-Central, and Mumbai South—will go to the polls tomorrow.

The general elections are conducted in seven phases, with vote counting scheduled for June 4.

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.MoreLess
HomeNewstrendsLok Sabha Elections 2024: ‘Let’s carry out our duty as Indians,’ Shah Rukh Khan urges people to exercise their franchise

Most Active Stocks

Bharat Electronics

10:29 AM | 14 JUN 2024
8.6 (2.86%)

Indian Oil Corporation

10:25 AM | 14 JUN 2024
1.2 (0.71%)


10:28 AM | 14 JUN 2024
16.55 (1.05%)

State Bank Of India

10:29 AM | 14 JUN 2024
-3.7 (-0.44%)
More Active Stocks

Market Snapshot

  • Top Gainers
  • Top Losers
  • 52 Week High

JK Paper

10:25 AM | 14 JUN 2024
44.35 (9.94%)


10:22 AM | 14 JUN 2024
23.05 (8.03%)

Poly Medicure

09:59 AM | 14 JUN 2024
142.9 (7.68%)

KEC International

10:25 AM | 14 JUN 2024
66.25 (7.62%)
More from Top Gainers

Recommended For You

    More Recommendations

    Gold Prices

    • 24K
    • 22K

    Fuel Price

    • Petrol
    • Diesel
    New Delhi
    HomeMarketsPremiumInstant LoanGet App