Active Stocks
Sat May 18 2024 12:49:03
  1. Tata Motors share price
  2. 952.95 0.76%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 316.85 1.12%
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 167.90 0.39%
  1. ITC share price
  2. 436.50 -0.02%
  1. State Bank Of India share price
  2. 821.30 0.42%
Business News/ News / World/  Iran, Kenya join list of nations offering visa-free travel to Indians. Check new rules in all 6 nations

Iran, Kenya join list of nations offering visa-free travel to Indians. Check new rules in all 6 nations

Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam have also implemented visa waivers to attract more tourists.

Iran, Kenya join list of nations offering visa-free travel (via REUTERS)Premium
Iran, Kenya join list of nations offering visa-free travel (via REUTERS)

Iran on Friday announced that it is likely to cancel visa requirements for visitors from 33 new countries, including India. 

Announcing the same, Iranian Minister of Cultural Heritage, Tourism, and Handicrafts Ezzatollah Zarghami said, reported Iran's IRNA news agency, “The decision is aimed at boosting tourism arrivals and attracting more visitors from countries around the world"

Iran's decision follows a similar visa waiver implemented by Kenya, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

Here's all you need about visa-free travel in these countries: 


From January 1, Kenya will remove visa requirements for international visitors. The move is likely to boost the country's crucial tourism sector, offering visitors hassle-free travel to experience wildlife safaris and beach holidays.

President William Ruto said, “It is no longer necessary for anyone from any corner of the globe to bear the burden of applying for a visa to come to Kenya." 


Tourists from India and China can now enter Malaysia without a visa and stay there is up to 30 days. The new rule has been levied from December 1, 2023. 

While announcing the development, Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim said the exemption was subject to top security screening

"Initial screenings will be conducted for all tourists and visitors to Malaysia. Security is a different matter. If there are criminal records or the risk of terrorism, they will not be allowed to enter," the prime minister said.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka has introduced a visa-free entry initiative for visitors from India and six other countries, including China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia, and Thailand. This initiative will remain effective until March 31, 2024


Thailand has also started granting 30-day visa-free entry for visitors from India and Taiwan from November 1. The initiative will remain applicable till May 10, 2024.


Earlier this year, Vietnam also announced that it is contemplating visa-free entry for Indians and Chinese to enhance tourism. Presently, citizens of certain European countries enjoy visa-free access, while others can obtain e-visas with a 90-day validity and multiple entry options.


Unlock a world of Benefits! From insightful newsletters to real-time stock tracking, breaking news and a personalized newsfeed - it's all here, just a click away! Login Now!

Sanchari Ghosh
Sanchari Ghosh is a Chief Content Producer with LiveMint. She covers news, human interest, epidemiology and personal finance stories
Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Published: 15 Dec 2023, 11:57 AM IST
Next Story footLogo
Recommended For You