Home >Politics >News >New CM Pramod Sawant wins Goa floor test
Goa chief minister Pramod Sawant (PTI)
Goa chief minister Pramod Sawant (PTI)

New CM Pramod Sawant wins Goa floor test

  • Twenty MLAs voted for the motion of confidence in the two-day old government, while 15 opposed it
  • Pramod Sawant was sworn in as chief minister during the wee hours of Tuesday

Panaji: The Bharatiya Janata Party-led coalition in Goa on Wednesday won the floor test in the legislative assembly. While the ruling coalition got 20 votes, the opposition Congress and Nationalist Congress Party got 15. Deputy speaker Michael Lobo conducted the floor test. In the 40-member Goa assembly, the BJP-led coalition has 21 members, including Lobo.

The floor test victory establishes Pramod Sawant as the new chief minister. Sawant was sworn in on Tuesday along with two deputy chief ministers, Sudin Dhavalikar of Maharashtravadi Gomantak Paksha (MGP) and Vijay Sardesai of Goa Forward (GF), and nine other ministers. Sawant succeeds Manohar Parrikar who died on Sunday.

Ailing BJP MLA Pandurang Madkaikar also came to the assembly to cast his vote. The strength of the 40-member House has been reduced to 36 following the death of Parrikar and BJP MLA Francis D'Souza, and resignations of two Congress MLAs Subhash Shirodkar and Dayanand Sopte last year. Both Shirodkar and Sopte are contesting by-polls on April 23 on BJP tickets.

Earlier, the House paid rich tributes to Parrikar, D'Souza and former deputy speaker Vishnu Wagh. Pramod Sawant broke down while paying tributes to Parrikar, saying he became the legislator and chief minister because of Parrikar. Dhavalikar, who holds the public works department, announced that the new Zuari bridge being constructed would be named after Parrikar.  

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperMint is now on Telegram. Join Mint channel in your Telegram and stay updated with the latest business news.

Edit Profile
My Reads Redeem a Gift Card Logout