Home / Politics / News /  Congress Chief Polls: Mallikarjun Kharge enters in race, Digvijaya Singh backs out

As Mallikarjun Kharge is likely to to file his nomination for Congress President post today, Congress leader Digvijaya Singh has announced that he will not contest the elections, reported ANI.

Earlier, it was reported that Shashi Tharoor and Digvijaya Singh will be contesting the election. However, with this recent filing of nomination, Digvijaya Singh has backed out from the race and has announced to support his senior Mallikarjun Kharge.

"Kharge ji is my leader and my senior. I had asked him yesterday if he wanted to contest. He said no. I met him again today. I told him I am with you fully if you are contesting. I can't think of contesting against him. He is filing his nomination and I will be his proposer," said Singh.

"There are some non-negotiables in my life. I don't compromise on issues related to Dalits, tribals and OBCs; I don't compromise with those who spoil communal harmony and I don't compromise my commitment to the Gandhi family," he said.

Also Read: Congress President election: Digvijaya Singh enters race. See list of other probable candidate here

The nomination for the Congress President post will be closed at 3 pm today and the results will be announced on 19 October.

 Rajya Sabha MP Pramod Tiwari has also confirmed said that Senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge will contest party president election, reported PTI.

Manish Tewari from G23, to be another potential candidate for the Congress Chief post

Another possible candidate in the Congress President elections would be Manish Tewari, who is pondering upon filing a nomination, reported ANI. Notably, Manish Tiwari is the face of the G-23 group of leaders who are seeking reforms in the party.

All the G-23 leaders including former union minister Manish Tewari, former Maharashtra CM Prithviraj Chavan and former Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda met on Thursday evening at the residence of Anand Sharma.

"Nobody has filed a nomination yet. Once it is done, there will be contemplation. The democratic process has begun. BS Hooda, Anand Sharma, Prithviraj Chavan, and I sat for deliberation and discussed events," Manish Tewari said while leaving Anand Sharma's residence.

Asked whether G-23 will support candidates whose names have come for Congress presidential poll so far, Tewari said, "Days pass between collecting, filing and withdrawing nomination papers. The decision will be taken at that time. In English, it is called politics 'it is the preponderance of probabilities. Let us see what happens tomorrow."

From the remarks of G23 leaders, it can be assumed that they do not possibly see Shashi Tharoor representing their voice in the election, reported ANI.

Congress to get its first non-Gandhi chief this time

Notably, this will be the first time when the grand old party will be led by a non-Gandhi president after over 25 years. This time, not even a single person from Gandhi family is participating in the election.

The seat of Congress president was almost sure for Rajasthan CM Ashok gehlot who was seen as the front runner in the election. But the political turmoil in Rajasthan caused him to step out of the election. The Rajasthan CM announced his withdrawal from the election after meeting with Sonia Gandhi on Thursday. Addressing media persons in the national capital after the meeting Gehlot said that he had apologised to her for the scenario emerging in the state triggered by his loyalists.

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less

Recommended For You

Trending Stocks

Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout