New Delhi: The Parliamentary Affairs ministry has announced that the winter session of Parliament will begin 18 November and last until 13 December. The schedule has been communicated to secretariats of both the Houses of Parliament.

While the previous monsoon session saw the passage of landmark bills such Triple Talaq, Motor Vehicles Act, and amendments to the National Investigation Agency Act, the hallmark of the session was the scrapping of special status to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 and the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which had tabled the Citizenship Amendment Bill on 8 January 2019 during its first term in office, is likely to bring the Bill back this session, following the announcement of the final list of the National Register of Citizens (NRC) in August.

At the same time, two ordinances which were cleared by the Union Cabinet – one reducing corporate tax rates for new and domestic manufacturing companies to arrest slowdown in the economy and boost growth, and the other banning sale, manufacture and storage of e-cigarettes in India – are also likely to be tabled in Parliament, this session.

The Opposition, which has been vocal about the 72-day long clampdown on Kashmir, is also likely to bring up the issue especially in Rajya Sabha, where it is in majority.