The Election Commission (EC) on Saturday announced schedule for bypolls in 64 assembly constituencies across 18 states and union territories. Byelection for one Lok Sabha seat in Bihar will also take place simultaneously.

The date of polling and counting will be the same as those for assembly polls in Maharashtra and Haryana, which is 21 October and 24 October, respectively.

In Karnataka, 15 assembly seats will have byelections, and in Uttar Pradesh 11 constituencies will go to the polls. Byelections will also be held in five seats in Kerala and 4 in Punjab among others. One Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra is currently vacant but chief election commissioner Sunil Arora on Saturday said it won't go to polls along with the state assembly elections.

The only Lok Sabha seat scheduled for byelection along with the polls is Samastipur in Bihar which fell vacant after the death of Lok Janshakti Party MP Ramchandra Paswan in July.

The schedule for the bypolls was detailed on Saturday at a media briefing of the EC which was called to announce the schedule for elections in Maharashtra and Haryana. While the polling will take place in both the states on 21 October, counting for will be done on 24 October.

My Reads Logout