New Delhi: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen Patnaik took oath as Odisha chief minister for a consecutive fifth term on Wednesday. Attended by party supporters and his family members, Patnaik kept his swearing in ceremony low key, that he has maintained for last 19 years. Even on 23 May, when his party won 112 of the 146 assembly seats and 12 of the 21 Lok Sabha seat, there was no celebration at his residence. Here are five takeaways from his ceremony in ceremony Bhubaneswar.


For the first time Patnaik took oath in a public exhibition ground away from Raj Bhawan. Like his grueling campaign during this elections season, through swearing in ceremony he was indicating his proximity to people. “It’s a nostalgic and personal journey for me to reminiscence the past 19 years. Today while I take oath of office for the 5th term, I humbly accept the responsibility that comes with the faith my 4.5 crore family members have reposed on me, yet again,” the chief minister tweeted


Before taking oath, Patnaik visited Lord Jagannath temple in Puri to seek divine blessings. Puri needs immediate attention of the CM in his fifth term post Cyclone Fani that made landfall in the district on 3rd May. The district is still struggling to get on its feet, and has witnessed maximum damage. Nearly a month after the cyclone, the district is struggling with crippled electricity and telecom infrastructure. Over 189,000 houses have been fully damaged and Patnaik needs to speed up financial help to families to rebuild houses ahead of mid-June monsoon.


Naveen inducted 11 cabinet ministers and nine minister of state. In the 21 member council of ministers including him there are 10 new faces. Patnaik during assembly polls in April had changed more than 60% of his sitting MLAs to curb anti-incumbency.


He has given ministerial berth to two women MLAs: Tukuni Sahu and Padmini Dian. While Sahu is from western Odisha, Dian is from southern Odisha, two regions where BJP gave tough competition to BJD during elections. Dian is a first time MLA from tribal dominated Koraput.


Now attention will shift which constituency Patnaik will keep and from which he will resign. The CM had contested from two assembly seats – Hinjli and Bijepur. While Hinjli is his traditional seat, he went to Bijepur to counter growth of BJP in western Odisha. Though he has said that his family members wont join BJD, there were speculation that he may field his nephew (brother’ son) from one of the seats. In fact, his brother - businessman Prem Patnaik, and sister - author Gita Mehta were present in his swearing in ceremony.