Rajnath Singh | 67

A politician for close to five decades, the former BJP president won the Lucknow seat this time. He is one of the senior ministers in the cabinet, and was home minister in the previous government. Singh was UP chief minister between 2000 and 2002 after which he served as agriculture minister in the Vajpayee cabinet between 2003 and 2004. In 1994, he was a Rajya Sabha MP.

Amit Shah | 54

The president of the Bharatiya Janata Party has a history of organizing the cadres and winning elections across the country. He makes his Lok Sabha debut this year, having contested from Gandhinagar in Gujarat. Appointed party president in 2014 after Rajnath Singh joined the government, Shah is known as the party’s strategy man, who planned the BJP’s election campaigns both at the state and national level. He has managed to stitch together strong alliances and is credited with changing the BJP’s profile in Uttar Pradesh from that of a largely upper-caste party. He entered politics as an RSS worker in Gujarat, served in various capacities in the Gujarat government and joined national politics in 2013.

Nirmala Sitharaman | 59

The former PwC employee did her M.A. and M.Phil in economics from Jawaharlal Nehru University. She served as the defence minister in the 16th Lok Sabha, the second woman to do so. Before that, she was minister of commerce and industry in the cabinet. She has served as a Rajya Sabha MP since 2016.

Nitin Gadkari | 62

A second-time Lok Sabha MP from Nagpur and a former BJP president, Gadkari joined politics as an ABVP activist in 1976. He won the corporation polls in Nagpur in 1992, establishing himself as a BJP leader. Gadkari fought his first general election in 2014, and had a solid term as minister for highways, shipping and water resources, and river development.

Smriti Irani | 43

Irani is making her Lok Sabha debut, having won the Amethi seat after defeating Congress president Rahul Gandhi. She contested from Amethi in 2014 as well, and lost by over 100,000 votes, but was rewarded with a cabinet position. Irani was a Rajya Sabha member from Gujarat and held the HRD portfolio. After a cabinet reshuffle following her involvement in a number of controversies, she was made textiles minister.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi | 61

At a time when BJP has no elected MP from the Muslim community, the inclusion of the RS MP from Jharkhand may seem ceremonial but he has vast experience. He has served in both the Vajpayee and Modi governments.

Piyush Goyal | 54

Got a crisis in any sector? Goyal’s your guy. BJP’s man for all seasons has vast experience across varied sectors. A chartered accountant and an investment banker by profession before entering Rajya Sabha in 2016, he was coal and railways minister in the previous government. He has been a member of the parliamentary standing committee on finance and the consultative committee for the ministry of defence.

Ravi Shankar Prasad | 68

A former BJP spokesperson and Rajya Sabha MP since 2000, Ravi Shankar Prasad is making his debut in the Lok Sabha with a win from Patna Sahib in Bihar, going up against his friend and former BJP member Shatrughan Sinha. He held the law and IT portfolios in the outgoing House. He earlier served as coal minister in the Vajpayee cabinet between 2001 and 2003.

Harsh Vardhan | 64

The ENT surgeon has been elected from Chandni Chowk in Delhi twice before. He held the portfolios of science and technology and environment, forest and climate change in the previous government.

Arvind Sawant | 67

The Shiv Sena leader and second-time Lok Sabha MP from South Mumbai is a former government employee who was a Union leader and successfully negotiated two wage pacts for MTNL staff without strikes. He quit his job and joined full-time politics in the late 1990s. He is known to be a trusted aide of Uddhav Thackeray.

Ramesh Pokhriyal | 59

The former Uttarakhand chief minister won from Hardwar this time. The two-time MP has been a member of various parliamentary committees. He is also a poet, author and social worker.

Babul Supriyo | 48

Well known as a musician before he entered politics in 2014, Supriyo has been elected from Asansol in West Bengal twice. He was minister of state for heavy industries and public enterprises in the previous government. He is likely to grow in the party as it makes an attempt to form the government in Bengal when the state goes to polls in 2021.

Dharmendra Pradhan | 49

A close confidant of Amit Shah, he is considered one of the chief architects of the party’s victory in Bihar in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. He was inducted in the 2014 cabinet as minister of state for petroleum and oil after being elected to Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh.

Narendra Singh Tomar | 61

Known to be close to RSS, the three-time MP has held the mines, panchayati raj, rural development portfolios. He won from Morena in MP this time.

Harsimrat Kaur Badal | 52

The Shiromani Akali Dal leader and three-time MP took oath as minister for the second time on Thursday. A member of the powerful Badal clan in Punjab, she was minister of food processing in the previous National Democratic Alliance government. She retained her Bathinda seat, which she has won since she made her political debut in 2009, in the 2019 general election too.

D.V. Sadananda Gowda | 66

The second-time MP from Bangalore North was minister for statistics and programme implementation in the last government. He has been a key player in Karnataka politics from the 1990s.

S. Jaishankar | 64

The former foreign secretary, who served from 2015 to 2018 and planned a number of Modi’s international trips and meetings with global leaders, was a surprise inclusion in the cabinet. He was a key member of the team that negotiated the Indo-US nuclear deal. He has previously served as ambassador to the US, China and Czech Republic.

Ram Vilas Paswan | 72

The Lok Jan Shakti Party leader and nine-time LS MP did not contest elections but will make an entry through the Rajya Sabha. Elected to the LS for the first time in 1977, he was minister of consumer affairs, food and public distribution in the previous government.