Home >Politics >News >Lok Sabha passes Jammu and Kashmir reorganisation bill

New Delhi: The Lok Sabha on Tuesday gave its green signal to the resolution scrapping special status to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 of the Indian Constitution, with 370 members of the Lower House voting in favour of it.

The Jammu and Kashmir reorganization bill splits the northern state into two Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

While the bill to bifurcate the state was passed in the House by 370 votes in favour and 70 against, the resolution to scrap special status was passed by the Lok Sabha with 351 members voting in its support and 72 against it, while one member abstained.

The resolution and the bill were approved by the Rajya Sabha on Monday.

“Article 370 does not join India to Kashmir but hinders it. As for Ladakh, the demand for Union Territory was a demand of the people of Ladakh which was not fulfilled earlier," Union home minister Amit Shah said in the Lower House.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout