Active Stocks
Fri Jun 14 2024 15:58:47
  1. HDFC Bank share price
  2. 1,597.45 1.05%
  1. State Bank Of India share price
  2. 840.20 -0.44%
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 183.05 0.30%
  1. ICICI Bank share price
  2. 1,105.10 -0.20%
  1. Kotak Mahindra Bank share price
  2. 1,717.00 -0.54%
Business News/ Politics / News/  ‘Want to make India strong,’ Akshay Kumar, Farhan Akhtar among early voters in Mumbai for Lok Sabha Phase 5 polling

‘Want to make India strong,’ Akshay Kumar, Farhan Akhtar among early voters in Mumbai for Lok Sabha Phase 5 polling

Polling for 35 Odisha assembly constituencies and 49 parliamentary seats across eight states and UTs, including key leaders, is underway. Akshay Kumar and other celebrities cast their votes in Mumbai amid tight security.

Bollywood actor Akshay Kumar shows an inked-mark finger after casting his vote. (Photo: ANI)Premium
Bollywood actor Akshay Kumar shows an inked-mark finger after casting his vote. (Photo: ANI)

After casting his vote at a polling booth in Mumbai, Bollywood actor Akshay Kumar, Farhan Akhtar showed the indelible ink mark on his finger. Speaking to the reporters, the actor said, “I want my India to be developed and strong. I voted, keeping that in mind. India should vote for what they deem is right...I think voter turnout will be good."

Bollywood actor Aishwarya Rai Bachchan also flaunted her inked finger after casting a vote in the Lok Sabha elections 2024. Shah Rukh Khan, Gauri and their kids – Suhana and Aryan – arrived at a polling booth in Mumbai to cast their votes.

Ahead of the elections, SRK came forward to encourage people to immerse themselves in the celebration of democracy and get their fingers inked on Monday.

Taking to X, SRK wrote, "As responsible Indian citizens we must exercise our right to vote this Monday in Maharashtra. Let's carry out our duty as Indians and vote keeping our country's best interests in mind. Go forth Promote, our right to Vote."

Actor Farhan Akhtar and Director Zoya Akhtar show their inked fingers after casting their votes at a polling station. Voting started at 7 a.m. and will continue until 6 p.m. 

Actor Sanya Malhotra shows the indelible ink mark on her finger after casting her vote.

After casting his vote, Actor Rajkummar Rao said, “It is a big responsibility towards our country, we should vote. Through us, if people can get influenced then of course that's the biggest thing that we can do to make people aware of the importance of voting. So I'm very happy that the Election Commission chose me to be the national icon and I appeal to all to please come out and cast your vote... We all want our nation to grow, to shine. It's already shining. I'm sure it's going to shine even more."

Voting for the fifth phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha elections 2024 began on Monday morning across 49 parliamentary constituencies in six states and two Union Territories (UTs) amid tight security and arrangements.

Meanwhile, veteran actor Dharmendra cast his vote at a polling booth in Mumbai.

Actor Emraan Hashmi, Manoj Bajpayee also cast their vote at a polling station in Mumbai.

After casting his vote, actor Manoj Bajpayee said, “This is the biggest festival and everyone should vote as you will get this opportunity after 5 years. If you haven't voted then you have no right to complain."

Actor Suresh Oberoi after casting his vote said, “...I don't think Mumbaikars will not come out to cast their votes because of the heatwave conditions. People will surely come out and exercise their right to vote. I am requesting everyone to come out."

Actor Anil Kapoor after casting his vote, said, “I have cast my vote. All citizens of India should vote."

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), polling for 35 assembly constituencies of the Odisha legislative assembly is also taking place simultaneously on Monday.

ECI further noted that over 8.95 crore voters, including 4.69 crore males, 4.26 crore females, and 5,409 third-gender electors, will decide the fate of 695 candidates in the fifth phase of voting.

The fifth phase features key contests in various constituencies, with prominent leaders such as Rahul Gandhi, BJP leaders Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Piyush Goyal, Ujjwal Nikam, Karan Bhushan Singh, LJP (Ramvilas) chief Chirag Paswan, JKNC chief Omar Abdullah, and RJD leader Rohini Acharya seeking electoral success.

The eight states and union territories going to polls in phase 5 are Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

(With inputs from ANI)

3.6 Crore Indians visited in a single day choosing us as India's undisputed platform for General Election Results. Explore the latest updates here!

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less
Published: 20 May 2024, 07:54 AM IST
Next Story footLogo
Recommended For You