Narendra Modi to take oath as PM for 3rd time on June 9 at 6 PM: Pralhad Joshi

BJP leader Pralhad Joshi says Narendra Modi will be sworn in as Prime Minister for the third time on Sunday, June 9, at 6 p.m.

Updated7 Jun 2024, 11:44 AM IST
 Narendra Modi. (ANI)
Narendra Modi. (ANI)(HT_PRINT)

Senior BJP leader Pralhad Joshi has said that Narendra Modi will take oath as the Prime Minister of India for the third time on Sunday, June 9.

Addressing the NDA parliamentary party meeting at the Central Hall of the old Parliament building, Joshi said the oath-taking ceremony is scheduled for 6 pm on June 9. 

Senior alliance leaders, including chief ministers and NDA MPs, attended the meeting. BJP president J P Nadda is expected to propose a resolution supporting Modi's leadership, which allies and MPs are likely to endorse.

Other NDA leaders, such as Chirag Paswan, Jitan Ram Manjhi, Anupriya Patel, and Pawan Kalyan, were also in the meeting. The NDA, with 293 MPs, comfortably exceeds the majority mark of 272 in the 543-member Lok Sabha.

At the meeting, BJP national president JP Nadda said, "We extend heartiest congratulations to the Prime Minister, who spent every moment in the service of the nation. That is the reason that India is creating history today and NDA is forming a government for the third consecutive time with a majority."

Also Read: When Narendra Modi calls WHO chief 'Tulsi Bhai' in thank you reply

Upon reaching the Parliament, Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio said, “I had already congratulated him (PM Modi) for his third term and the success of the NDA as the third term government.”

Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, who was among those who arrived to attend the NDA Parliamentary Party meeting, said, “We were able to win only one seat in Goa. I am sad that we could not win the other seat as well.”

Following Modi's election as the leader of NDA MPs, prominent alliance members such as TDP's N Chandrababu Naidu, JD(U)'s Nitish Kumar, and Shiv Sena's Eknath Shinde are expected to accompany the Prime Minister for a meeting with President Droupadi Murmu. They will present her with the list of parliamentarians supporting Modi.

Also Read: 'For the first time since 1962...': PM Modi addresses BJP supporters at party HQ after ‘historic’ Lok Sabha election win

With 293 MPs, the NDA comfortably exceeds the majority mark of 272 in the 543-member Lok Sabha.

Chandrababu Naidu's TDP and Nitish Kumar's JDU, having won 16 and 12 seats, respectively, in their respective states, have extended support to the NDA.

The INDIA bloc has 234 MPs in the new parliament and Congress 99.

(With inputs from agencies)

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.MoreLess
First Published:7 Jun 2024, 11:44 AM IST
HomePoliticsNewsNarendra Modi to take oath as PM for 3rd time on June 9 at 6 PM: Pralhad Joshi

Most Active Stocks

Indian Oil Corporation

03:58 PM | 12 JUL 2024
-7.6 (-4.36%)

Tata Steel

03:58 PM | 12 JUL 2024
-0.3 (-0.18%)

Bharat Electronics

03:59 PM | 12 JUL 2024
-2.25 (-0.67%)


03:56 PM | 12 JUL 2024
25.7 (4.81%)
More Active Stocks

Market Snapshot

  • Top Gainers
  • Top Losers
  • 52 Week High

KPIT Technologies

03:57 PM | 12 JUL 2024
154.25 (9.02%)

Inox Wind

03:59 PM | 12 JUL 2024
13.85 (8.76%)

Zensar Technologies

03:29 PM | 12 JUL 2024
50.45 (7.03%)


03:29 PM | 12 JUL 2024
386.65 (6.95%)
More from Top Gainers

Recommended For You

    More Recommendations

    Gold Prices

    • 24K
    • 22K

    Fuel Price

    • Petrol
    • Diesel
    New Delhi
    HomeMarketsPremiumInstant LoanMint Shorts