Om Birla vs K Suresh: Congress, BJP issue whips for Lok Sabha MPs on Speaker election day

Congress and BJP issue whips for MPs' attendance in Lok Sabha on 26 June 2024 for Speaker's election, emphasizing its significance after 48 years.

Written By Sayantani
Updated25 Jun 2024, 09:48 PM IST
New Delhi: Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge with party leaders Rahul Gandhi and KC Venugopal during a review meeting on Maharashtra, at AICC headquarters
New Delhi: Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge with party leaders Rahul Gandhi and KC Venugopal during a review meeting on Maharashtra, at AICC headquarters(PTI)

Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have issued whips to their respective MPs, requiring their presence in the Lok Sabha on Wednesday, 26 June 2024, for the crucial Speaker's election. This is the third time Lok Sabha Speaker election will be held in post-Independence India. Before this, Lok Sabha Speaker elections were held in 1976 and 1952. 

The whip from Congress chief whip K Suresh urges all party members in the Lok Sabha to attend from 11.00 AM onwards and support the party's stance throughout the session. Suresh is the joint candidate representing the opposition INDIA bloc in the Speaker's election, where he will contest against NDA's Om Birla.

Also Read | Parliament Session 2024: Why The Opposition Is Fighting HARD For Speaker’s Post

"Very important issue will be taken up in the Lok Sabha tomorrow i.e. Wednesday, 26 June 2024.

"All Members of Congress Party in the Lok Sabha are requested to kindly remain present in the House from 11:00 AM onwards till the adjournment of the House on 26 June 2024 without fail and support the Party stand," the whip issued by Congress chief whip K Suresh said.

Also Read | Om Birla vs K Suresh for Lok Sabha Speaker post: Top things to know about them

Similarly, the BJP has also directed its MPs to be present for the Speaker's election, underlining the importance of their participation in this historic parliamentary event.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) also issued a three-line-whip to its party MPs to remain in the Parliament tomorrow from 11 a.m. onwards during the election for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker.

"Harish Balayogi, Whip of the Telugu Desam Party, has issued a three-line whip to all TDP Members of Parliament, mandating their presence and vote for the NDA candidate, Shri Om Birla, in the upcoming Speaker elections scheduled for June 26, 2024. All members are requested to gather in the Parliamentary office, Room Number 111-B, by 10:30 AM", read the official release.

The election of the Speaker is anticipated to be a pivotal moment in the current parliamentary session. Both alliances—NDA and INDIA—are rallying their members to ensure their representation and adherence to party directives during the proceedings.

Also Read | Rahul Gandhi will support Modi govt’s choice for Lok Sabha Speaker post if…

The Lok Sabha Speaker will be elected on June 26. On June 27, President Murmu is scheduled to address a joint sitting of both houses of Parliament.

INDIA bloc candidate, MP from Mavelikkara in Kerala, K Suresh is currently the longest-serving Lok Sabha MP, as he has remained MP for 29 years.

The NDA, which has 293 MPs in the 543-member Lok Sabha, fielded Kota MP Om Birla as Speaker post candidate for a second term. The opposition INDIA bloc has 234 MPs in Lok Sabha.

TMC unhappy with INDIA bloc speaker candidate

TMC MP Abhishek Banerjee criticized the decision to field Kodikunnil Suresh of the Congress as the joint nominee for the INDIA bloc in the Lok Sabha Speaker election, calling it a unilateral move. Banerjee stated that the Trinamool Congress Party was not consulted before this decision.

Also Read | Modi 3.0: BJP MP Om Birla files nomination for 18th Lok Sabha Speaker post

Speaking to ANI about K Suresh's candidature for Lok Sabha Speaker, TMC MP Abhishek Banerjee said, "We were not contacted about this, and there was no discussion. Unfortunately, this is a unilateral decision."

Catch all theBudget News,Business News, Politics news,Breaking NewsEvents andLatest News Updates on Live Mint. Download TheMint News App to get Daily Market Updates.

First Published:25 Jun 2024, 09:48 PM IST
HomePoliticsOm Birla vs K Suresh: Congress, BJP issue whips for Lok Sabha MPs on Speaker election day

Get Instant Loan up to ₹10 Lakh!

  • Employment Type

    Most Active Stocks

    Bharat Electronics

    03:56 PM | 23 JUL 2024
    -11.1 (-3.55%)

    Tata Steel

    03:58 PM | 23 JUL 2024
    -0.3 (-0.19%)

    Tata Power

    03:58 PM | 23 JUL 2024
    -7.9 (-1.86%)


    03:58 PM | 23 JUL 2024
    8.8 (2.36%)
    More Active Stocks

    Market Snapshot

    • Top Gainers
    • Top Losers
    • 52 Week High

    Network 18 Media & Investments

    03:59 PM | 23 JUL 2024
    7.2 (9.22%)

    Asahi India Glass

    03:29 PM | 23 JUL 2024
    55.15 (8.56%)

    CE Info Systems

    03:59 PM | 23 JUL 2024
    193.45 (8.55%)

    Borosil Renewables

    03:49 PM | 23 JUL 2024
    39.35 (8.22%)
    More from Top Gainers

    Recommended For You

      More Recommendations

      Gold Prices

      • 24K
      • 22K

      Fuel Price

      • Petrol
      • Diesel
      New Delhi
      HomeMarketsPremiumInstant LoanBudget