Home / Sports / Cricket News /  Australia thrash India by 10 wickets, level 3-match ODI series 1-1

A week after clinching the Border Gavaskar Trophy by 2-1 and winning the first ODI by 5 wickets against Australia, the latter thrashed the hometeam by 10 wickets in Visakhapatnam.

Batting first, India hardly managed to score 117 in just 26 overs by losing all of its wickets. Apart from Virat Kohli (31) and Axar Patel (29), no other batter could cross the individual score of more than 25 runs.

Opener Shubhman Gill, power batter Suryakumar Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj walked to the pavillion without even scoring a run. While Indian skipper Rohit Sharma scored 13 runs, KL Rahul made 9, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja 16, Kuldeep Yadav 4 and Hardik Pandya 1 runs respectively.

ALSO READ: India clinch Border-Gavaskar Trophy by 2-1 after final Test ends in draw

For Australia, Mitchell Starc in his 8-over spell, clinched 5 wickets for Australia. While, Sean Abbott took 3 and Nathan Ellis took 2 wickets respectively.

Chasing a the target of 118 runs in 50 overs looked like icing on the cake for Australian openers Travis Head and Mitchell Marsh. Both the batters remained on the crease untill the end. The Australians beat the target in just 11 overs.

For India, this is the heaviest defeat in terms of balls remaining.

Brief Scores:

India: 117 all out in 26 overs (Virat Kohli 31, Axar Patel 29 not out, Mitchell Starc 5/53, Sean Abbott 3/23, Nathan Ellis 2/13).

Australia: 121 for no loss in 11 overs (Travis Head 51 not out, Mitchell Marsh 66 not out).

Catch all the Sports News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less
Recommended For You
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout