Business News/Sports/Cricket-News/   ICC World Cup

ICC World Cup 2023

The 13th edition of the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup is in full swing, it started on October 5 and the final will be played on November 19, 2023. It is the first time that India is hosting the event independently, having co-hosted the event in 1987, 1996, and 2011.

So far, India has played well and has qualified for semi-finals. On November 2, India defeated Sri Lanka by 302 runs in Mumbai finalising its position in the Semi-finals. The top three teams so far are India, South Africa and Australia. Rohit Sharma is at top on the list of most sixes among all the players in the ICC World Cup 2023. Virat Kohli is at the 2nd spot for most runs and at the third number for most fours. Dilshan Madushanka from Sri lanka is ranking at the top of most wickets list. From India Jasprit Bumrah is at the fifth position in most wickets among all players. Stay tuned to Mint for comprehensive coverage, in-depth analysis, and unforgettable moments.

The 2023 ODI World Cup had a total of 10 teams - India, Afghanistan, Australia, England, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, the Netherlands and Sri Lanka.

The first match of the 2023 World Cup was between reigning champions England and 2019 runners-up New Zealand in Ahmedabad on October 5 while India began their campaign against Australia in Chennai on October 8. The two semi-finals will be played in Mumbai and Kolkata, while the eagerly-anticipated final will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19.

... Read More

Points Table - 2023

PosTeamMatchesWonLostTiedNRPointsNRRSeries Form
2SOUTH AFRICASouth Africa9720014+1.261

Most Runs : 2023

  • Virat Kohli765
  • Rohit Sharma597
  • Quinton de Kock594
  • Rachin Ravindra578

Most Wickets : 2023

  • Mohammed Shami24
  • Adam Zampa23
  • Dilshan Madushanka21
  • Jasprit Bumrah20

Captains in World Cup


Highest Score - Stats

PlayersTeamsHSVSBFSRTSMatch Date
AUS201*AFG128157.03293Nov 07, 2023
AUS177*BAN132134.09307Nov 11, 2023
SA174BAN140124.28382Oct 24, 2023


  • IND
    Rohit Sharma
    Rohit SharmaCaptain
    Shreyas Iyer
    Shreyas IyerBatsman
    Shubman Gill
    Shubman GillBatsman
    Suryakumar Yadav
    Suryakumar YadavBatsman
  • AUS
    Pat Cummins
    Pat CumminsCaptain
    David Warner
    David WarnerBatsman
    Marnus Labuschagne
    Marnus LabuschagneBatsman
    Steven Smith
    Steven SmithBatsman
  • ENG
    Jos Buttler
    Jos ButtlerCaptain
    Ben Stokes
    Ben StokesBatsman
    Dawid Malan
    Dawid MalanBatsman
    Harry Brook
    Harry BrookBatsman
  • SA
    South Africa
    Temba Bavuma
    Temba BavumaCaptain
    David Miller
    David MillerBatsman
    Rassie van der Dussen
    Rassie van der DussenBatsman
    Reeza Hendricks
    Reeza HendricksBatsman
  • BAN
    Shakib Al Hasan
    Shakib Al HasanCaptain
    Najmul Hossain Shanto
    Najmul Hossain ShantoBatsman
    Tanzid Hasan
    Tanzid HasanBatsman
    Towhid Hridoy
    Towhid HridoyBatsman
  • SL
    Sri Lanka
    Kusal Mendis
    Kusal MendisCaptain
    Angelo Mathews
    Angelo MathewsBatsman
    Charith Asalanka
    Charith AsalankaBatsman
    Dimuth Karunaratne
    Dimuth KarunaratneBatsman
  • PAK
    Babar Azam
    Babar AzamCaptain
    Abdullah Shafique
    Abdullah ShafiqueBatsman
    Fakhar Zaman
    Fakhar ZamanBatsman
  • NZ
    New Zealand
    Mark Chapman
    Mark ChapmanBatsman
    Mark Chapman
    Mark ChapmanBatsman
    Will Young
    Will YoungBatsman
    Daryl Mitchell
    Daryl MitchellAll-Rounder
  • AFG
    Hashmatullah Shahidi
    Hashmatullah ShahidiCaptain
    Ibrahim Zadran
    Ibrahim ZadranBatsman
    Najibullah Zadran
    Najibullah ZadranBatsman
    Rahmat Shah
    Rahmat ShahBatsman
  • NED
    Scott Edwards
    Scott EdwardsCaptain
    Max O'Dowd
    Max O'DowdBatsman
    Teja Nidamanuru
    Teja NidamanuruBatsman
    Wesley Barresi
    Wesley BarresiBatsman
ALL World Cup History & Winners

2019 WinnerEngland

The 2019 Cricket World Cup Final was a One Day International cricket match played at Lord's in London, England, on 14 July 2019 to determine the winner of the 2019 Cricket World Cup. It was contested by the runners-up from the previous tournament, New Zealand, and the host nation, England. It was the fifth time Lord's had hosted the Cricket World Cup Final, the most of any ground.

New Zealand
New Zealand
Match tied (England won Super Over on boundary count)
Kane WilliamsonPlayer of the SeriesKane Williamson
Runs 578Wkts 02
Explore More
Recommended For You