World Cup 1975 History and Winner

ICC started the Cricket World Cup in 1975 for the first time. This started a new chapter in cricket's history, with the West Indies clinching the first-ever championship, inaugurating a four-yearly celebration of the sport. The first edition of the series took place in England from 7 June to 21 June 1975. Eight teams participated in the tournament - Australia, West Indies, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and East Africa.
... Read More
1975 Winner WEST INDIES

The year 1975 witnessed a ground-breaking moment in the world of cricket as the inaugural Cricket World Cup took place in England. With the introduction of limited-overs cricket on the global stage, this historic tournament marked the birth of a new era in the sport. The tournament featured a format consisting solely of One-Day Internationals (ODIs), a relatively new concept at the time.

1975 Score
Lord's Cricket Ground, London, England

India's performance in 1975 World Cup

  • India had a decent campaign and reached the semifinals but lost to England.
  • They won 2 out of their 3 matches in the tournament.

Key Moments

  • Clive Lloyd's century (102) in the final guided West Indies to a competitive total.
  • Dennis Lillee's exceptional bowling performance (5 wickets for 34 runs) for Australia in the final went in vain.

Tournament Highlights

  • blue-arrowThe 1975 World Cup was the inaugural edition of the tournament and was hosted by England.
  • blue-arrowThis edition featured 8 teams and a total of 15 matches.
  • blue-arrowWest Indies won their first-ever World Cup title, defeating Australia in the final.
Recommended For You