World Cup 1979 History and Winner

The 1979 Cricket World Cup, hosted by England, was a pivotal event that helped establish the One Day International (ODI) format as a premier cricketing spectacle. Featuring eight teams, this tournament was marked by the dominance of the West Indies. Clive Lloyd's powerful team emerged as the champions, defeating England in the final at Lord's. Vivian Richards, Gordon Greenidge, and Joel Garner were standout performers in the West Indian lineup. The 1979 Cricket World Cup laid the foundation for the ODI format's popularity, with its dynamic and limited-overs style of play, setting the stage for future editions and the growth of cricket worldwide.
... Read More
1979 Winner WEST INDIES

The 1979 Cricket World Cup marked the second edition of the prestigious tournament, held in England. Building on the success of the inaugural World Cup, this edition witnessed intense competition, outstanding performances, and the continued dominance of the West Indies, who emerged as the back-to-back champions.

1979 Score
Lord's Cricket Ground, London, England

India's performance in 1979 World Cup

  • India had a disappointing campaign and failed to progress beyond the group stage.
  • They won 1 out of their 3 matches in the tournament.

Key Moments

  • Viv Richards' century (138*) in the final powered West Indies to a challenging total.
  • Joel Garner's exceptional bowling performance (5 wickets for 38 runs) in the final contributed to West Indies' victory.

Tournament Highlights

  • blue-arrowThe 1979 World Cup was hosted by England.
  • blue-arrowThis edition featured 8 teams and a total of 15 matches.
  • blue-arrowWest Indies won their second consecutive World Cup title, defeating England in the final.
Recommended For You