World Cup 1987 History and Winner

The 1987 Cricket World Cup, hosted by India and Pakistan, was a landmark event that left an indelible mark on the sport. Featuring eight teams, this edition saw a round-robin format followed by knockout stages. Australia emerged as the champions, led by Allan Border, showcasing their dominance in the cricketing world. The tournament saw remarkable performances from players like Graham Gooch and Mike Gatting of England and Craig McDermott of Australia. The 1987 Cricket World Cup was pivotal in enhancing the global popularity of the game and set the stage for future editions, becoming a cherished chapter in cricketing history.
... Read More
1987 Winner AUSTRALIA

The 1987 Cricket World Cup marked a significant milestone in cricketing history as it introduced a new format and witnessed the Australian team winning the first of its five World Cups. Held jointly by India and Pakistan, this edition produced incredible matches, exceptional performances, and Australia's dominance throughout the tournament.

1987 Score
Eden Gardens, Kolkata, India

India's performance in 1987 World Cup

  • India had a decent campaign and reached the semifinals but lost to England.
  • They won 5 out of their 7 matches in the tournament.

Key Moments

  • David Boon's century (75-ball 75) in the final helped Australia set a challenging target for England.
  • David Gower of England was the Player of the Tournament.

Tournament Highlights

  • blue-arrowThe 1987 World Cup was co-hosted by India and Pakistan.
  • blue-arrowThis edition featured 8 teams and a total of 27 matches.
  • blue-arrowAustralia won their first World Cup title, defeating England in the final.
Recommended For You