World Cup 1996 History and Winner

The 1996 Cricket World Cup was jointly hosted by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. With 12 participating teams, this tournament featured a unique twist with the introduction of floodlit day-night matches. Sri Lanka, under the captaincy of Arjuna Ranatunga, achieved their maiden World Cup triumph, marking a historic moment for the island nation. The tournament also witnessed standout performances by players like Aravinda de Silva and Sachin Tendulkar. The 1996 Cricket World Cup is remembered for its vibrant atmosphere, thrilling cricket, and the beginning of Sri Lanka's emergence as a cricketing powerhouse.
... Read More
1996 Winner SRI LANKA

The 1996 Cricket World Cup held in the Indian subcontinent marked a significant milestone in the tournament's history. This edition witnessed remarkable performances, riveting matches, and the emergence of Sri Lanka as a cricketing powerhouse. Led by Aravinda de Silva's heroics, Sri Lanka achieved their maiden World Cup victory, running roughshod over their throughout the tournament.

1996 Score
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Pakistan

India's performance in 1996 World Cup

  • India reached the semifinals but lost to Sri Lanka.
  • They won 5 out of their 7 matches in the tournament.

Key Moments

  • Aravinda de Silva's brilliant century (107*) in the final guided Sri Lanka to victory.
  • Sanath Jayasuriya was the Player of the Tournament for his outstanding all-round performance.

Tournament Highlights

  • blue-arrowThe 1996 World Cup was hosted by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
  • blue-arrowThis edition featured 12 teams and a total of 37 matches.
  • blue-arrowSri Lanka won their first World Cup title, defeating Australia in the final.
Recommended For You