World Cup 1999 History And Winner

The 1999 Cricket World Cup, hosted by England, featured 12 teams. It was notable for its round-robin format followed by a super-six stage. Australia emerged victorious, led by the legendary Steve Waugh, who exhibited extraordinary leadership and a calm demeanor. The tournament witnessed several unforgettable moments, including Shoaib Akhtar's lightning-fast deliveries and Lance Klusener's heroics for South Africa. The dramatic tied semi-final between Australia and South Africa added to the excitement. The 1999 Cricket World Cup remains etched in cricket history as a showcase of skill, drama, and sportsmanship.
... Read More
1999 Winner AUSTRALIA

The 1999 Cricket World Cup was a highly competitive tournament that exhibited exciting contests, exceptional individual performances, and the dominance of the Australian cricket team. Held in England, the tournament witnessed Australia's remarkable journey to secure their second World Cup title under the inspirational leadership of Steve Waugh.

1999 Score
Lord's Cricket Ground, London, England

India's performance in 1999 World Cup

  • India had a disappointing campaign and were knocked out in the Super Six stage.
  • They won 4 out of their 8 matches but failed to advance to the semifinals.

Key Moments

  • Shane Warne's outstanding bowling performance in the final, taking 4 wickets for 33 runs, helped Australia win the match
  • Lance Klusener of South Africa was the Player of the Tournament.

Tournament Highlights

  • blue-arrowThe 1999 World Cup was hosted by England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and the Netherlands.
  • blue-arrowhis edition featured 12 teams and a total of 42 matches.
  • blue-arrowAustralia won their second World Cup title, defeating Pakistan in the final.
Recommended For You