World Cup 2007 History and Winner

The 2007 Cricket World Cup, held in the West Indies (Caribbean), was a highly anticipated event that brought together cricket's finest on a global stage. This edition marked a significant departure from previous tournaments, featuring 16 teams in a unique format. Australia continued their dominance, securing their third consecutive title under the leadership of Ricky Ponting. The World Cup was not without its surprises, as minnows like Ireland made remarkable progress, defeating Pakistan in a stunning upset. Despite controversies and rain-affected matches, the 2007 Cricket World Cup remained a memorable chapter in cricket history, showcasing the game's resilience and ability to unite fans worldwide.
... Read More
2007 Winner AUSTRALIA

In 2007, Australia became the first and only team to record a hat-trick of World Cup wins. Held in the West Indies, it is remembered as one of the most unpredictable and surprising World Cups in history. Amidst some captivating matches and unforeseen upsets, Australia reached new heights of dominance, while several traditional powerhouses suffered shocking early exits, leading to a highly controversial and memorable event.

2007 Score
Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados

India's performance in 2007 World Cup

  • India had a disappointing campaign and were knocked out in the group stage.
  • They won only 2 out of their 4 matches and failed to advance to the Super Eight stage.

Key Moments

  • Adam Gilchrist's century (149) in the final played a significant role in Australia's victory.
  • Glenn McGrath was the leading wicket-taker of the tournament with 26 wickets.

Tournament Highlights

  • blue-arrowThe 2007 World Cup was hosted by the West Indies.
  • blue-arrowThis edition featured 16 teams and a total of 51 matches.
  • blue-arrowAustralia won their third consecutive World Cup title, defeating Sri Lanka in the final.
Recommended For You