World Cup 2011 History and Winner

The 2011 Cricket World Cup was a defining moment in the history of the sport. Co-hosted by India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh, it showcased cricket's global appeal. With 14 participating nations, the tournament was a thrilling spectacle that brought fans together from around the world. India emerged as the champions, led by captain MS Dhoni, who played a pivotal role in their success. The event also witnessed memorable performances from stars like Sachin Tendulkar and Yuvraj Singh. This Cricket World Cup left an indelible mark on the sport's legacy and remains a cherished chapter in the hearts of cricket enthusiasts worldwide.
... Read More
2011 Winner INDIA

The 2011 Cricket World Cup, hosted jointly by India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh, marked a significant moment in Indian cricket history. With intense competition among 14 nations, passionate crowds, and memorable performances, the tournament culminated in an extraordinary final that brought joy to a cricket-crazy nation of India when MS Dhoni's Fantastic 15 won the World Cup after 28 long years.

2011 Score
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

India's performance in 2011 World Cup

  • India had a fantastic campaign and won the World Cup.
  • They won 7 out of their 9 matches in the tournament.
  • In the final, India chased down a target of 275 runs to win by 6 wickets.

Key Moments

  • MS Dhoni's unbeaten knock of 91 runs in the final was crucial in India's victory.
  • Yuvraj Singh's all-round performance earned him the Player of the Tournament award.
  • Sachin Tendulkar, playing in his last World Cup, scored 482 runs, the most by any batsman in the tournament.

Tournament Highlights

  • blue-arrowThe 2011 World Cup was hosted by India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh.
  • blue-arrowThis edition featured 14 teams and a total of 49 matches.
  • blue-arrowIndia won their second World Cup title, 28 years after their first triumph in 1983.
Recommended For You