ICC World Cup Winners List

The stage is set for the ICC World Cup 2023 with England and New Zealand ready to continue their last edition’s rivalry in this year’s inaugural game on 5 October at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. Before diving into the intricacies of ICC World Cup 2023, let’s take a fresh look at all previous World Cup editions and the respective champions that shaped the gigantic craze for the game called cricket.

With its inception in 1975, West Indies dominated the World Cup arena with Clive Lylod’s team winning the cup not just in 1975 but also in 1979. But, then came the young Kapil Dev-led Indian team to dethrone the giants in 1983. In 1987, Allan Border’s Australia emerged triumphant, marking the beginning of a new era for Australian cricket.

After India, Pakistan became the second South Asian team to clinch the World Cup in 1992 and that was just the beginning as in the next edition in 1996, a small island nation Sri Lanka defeated the stalwarts to take the cup home. Then came an era when Australia ruled the cricket space completely with three back-to-back World Cup wins in 1999, 2003, and 2007. MS Dhoni-led India was the only team capable of breaking Australia’s hegemony and that’s what they did in 2011.

But, Michael Clarke-led Australia bounced back and clinched the trophy in 2015. The 2019 World Cup edition is amongst the most exciting ones as all games ended very close including the finals in which England triumphed in a super over, securing their first-ever World Cup win.

... Read More
2019 Winner England

England won their first-ever 50-over World Cup at the 2019 rain-marred edition, this becoming the third straight team to win the ultimate glory on its home soil. The 2019 Cricket World Cup, hosted by England and Wales, provided an unforgettable spectacle filled with amazing moments, exceptional performances, and dramatic twists.

2015 Winner Australia

The 2015 Cricket World Cup, co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, dished out some thrilling cricketing action, exceptional performances, and unforgettable moments. With 14 teams battling it out for cricket's ultimate prize, the tournament provided fans with a rollercoaster ride of emotions and culminated in a memorable final between the host nations.

2011 Winner India

The 2011 Cricket World Cup, hosted jointly by India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh, marked a significant moment in Indian cricket history. With intense competition among 14 nations, passionate crowds, and memorable performances, the tournament culminated in an extraordinary final that brought joy to a cricket-crazy nation of India when MS Dhoni's Fantastic 15 won the World Cup after 28 long years.

2007 Winner Australia

In 2007, Australia became the first and only team to record a hattrick of World Cup wins. Held in the West Indies, it is remembered as one of the most unpredictable and surprising World Cups in history. Amidst some captivating matches and unforeseen upsets, Australia reached new heights of dominance, while several traditional powerhouses suffered shocking early exits, leading to a highly controversial and memorable event.

2003 Winner Australia

The 2003 Cricket World Cup held in South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya witnessed Australia's unparalleled dominance as they swept through the tournament with unwavering authority. Led by captain Ricky Ponting and an exceptional group of players, Australia displayed formidable skills, tactical brilliance, and an unmatched team unity en route to claiming their third World Cup title.

1999 Winner Australia

The 1999 Cricket World Cup was a highly competitive tournament that exhibited exciting contests, exceptional individual performances, and the dominance of the Australian cricket team. Held in England, the tournament witnessed Australia's remarkable journey to secure their second World Cup title under the inspirational leadership of Steve Waugh.

1996 Winner Sri Lanka

The 1996 Cricket World Cup held in the Indian subcontinent marked a significant milestone in the tournament's history. This edition witnessed remarkable performances, riveting matches, and the emergence of Sri Lanka as a cricketing powerhouse. Led by Aravinda de Silva's heroics, Sri Lanka achieved their maiden World Cup victory, running roughshod over their throughout the tournament.

1992 Winner Pakistan

The 1992 Cricket World Cup held in Australia and New Zealand was a landmark event that witnessed several big changes. From a revised format to coloured clothing and floodlit matches, this edition brought new dimensions to the tournament. It also marked a defining moment for Pakistani cricket, as Imran Khan led his team to a remarkable victory

1987 Winner Australia

The 1987 Cricket World Cup marked a significant milestone in cricketing history as it introduced a new format and witnessed the Australian team winning the first of its five World Cups. Held jointly by India and Pakistan, this edition produced incredible matches, exceptional performances, and Australia's dominance throughout the tournament.

1983 Winner India

The 1983 Cricket World Cup is etched in cricketing history as one of the most memorable and transformative tournaments ever. Held in England, this edition witnessed a stunning outcome, as a spirited Indian team led by Kapil Dev defied all odds to clinch their first-ever World Cup title, creating a watershed moment for Indian cricket.

1979 Winner West Indies

The 1979 Cricket World Cup marked the second edition of the prestigious tournament, held in England. Building on the success of the inaugural World Cup, this edition witnessed intense competition, outstanding performances, and the continued dominance of the West Indies, who emerged as the back-to-back champions.

1975 Winner West Indies

The year 1975 witnessed a ground-breaking moment in the world of cricket as the inaugural Cricket World Cup took place in England. With the introduction of limited-overs cricket on the global stage, this historic tournament marked the birth of a new era in the sport. The tournament featured a format consisting solely of One-Day Internationals (ODIs), a relatively new concept at the time.

Recommended For You
HomeMarketsPremiumFor youGet App