Active Stocks
Fri May 24 2024 15:59:27
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 174.80 -0.37%
  1. NTPC share price
  2. 374.85 0.68%
  1. State Bank Of India share price
  2. 828.60 -0.45%
  1. ITC share price
  2. 436.10 -1.16%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 318.50 -0.39%
Business News/ Sports / Cricket News/  Who won yesterday IPL Match? Top highlights of last night’s MI vs PBKS match

Who won yesterday IPL Match? Top highlights of last night’s MI vs PBKS match

Who won yesterday IPL Match?: Mumbai Indians secured their third win by defeating Punjab Kings by 9 runs on Thursday. Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma gave MI a strong start, with Surya Kumar Yadav scoring a fifty. Harshal Patel's exceptional bowling effort restricted MI to 192/7.

Who won yesterday IPL Match?: Punjab Kings fought back in the game after losing 4 wickets for a score of 14. (IPL)Premium
Who won yesterday IPL Match?: Punjab Kings fought back in the game after losing 4 wickets for a score of 14. (IPL)

Who won yesterday IPL Match?: Mumbai Indians recorded their third win of the season after inflicting a 9-run defeat on Punjab Kings at their home ground, the Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium in Mullanpur, Mohali, on Thursday.

Mumbai put up 192 runs in the first innings 

The familiar opening pair of Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma started the innings for Mumbai Indians. However, MI lost their first wicket of the innings in the third over when Ishan Kishan tried to cut a delivery from Kagiso Rabada on the off-side but ended up finding Harpreet Brar near the boundary line.

Surya Kumar Yadav then joined Rohit Sharma, and the duo piled on the runs against Punjab Kings, helping to stabilise Mumbai Indians' innings. In the process, Surya brought up his 23rd IPL fifty (his second of the season) off just 34 deliveries with a single against the bowling of Harshal Patel.

In the next over, however, Rohit Sharma (36 off 25 balls) lost his wicket when he was deceived by a slower delivery from Sam Curran, and Harpreet Brar took another superb flying catch.

Tilak Varma then joined Surya, and the duo continued to put pressure on Punjab Kings for the next five overs until SKY (78 off 53 balls) was dismissed in an attempt to raise the scoring rate while Prabhsimran Singh took a flying catch.

While Tilak Varma (34 off 18 balls) remained not out throughout the innings, he was supported first by skipper Hardik Pandya (10 off 6 balls) and then Tim David (14 off 7 balls), who played a crucial role in taking MI to 192/7 from their allotted 20 overs. However, some exceptional bowling from Harshal Patel, who took two wickets and conceded just seven runs in the final over, prevented MI from going past the 200-run mark.

Punjab's rollercoaster ride ends with 9 run loss

In Shikhar Dhawan's absence, skipper Sam Curran took on the added responsibility of opening the innings alongside Prabhsimran Singh. However, the opening pair failed to make an impact, as Prabhsimran was dismissed by Gerald Coetzee in the first over of the innings.

Punjab Kings received another shock in the next over as Jasprit Bumrah took the crucial wickets of Riley Rossouw and Sam Curran. Meanwhile, Liam Livingstone followed suit in the next over to put PBKS in a terrible position, having lost four wickets in the third over for a score of 14/4.

Harpreet Singh Bhatia and Shashank Singh then stabilised the Punjab Kings innings for a while, taking them close to the 50-run mark when the left-hander was dismissed by Shreyas Gopal in the seventh over for 13 (14). Shashank Singh shared another small partnership with Jitesh Sharma (9 off 9 balls) before the wicketkeeper-batsman was dismissed by Akash Madhwal in the 10th over.

Punjab lost their seventh wicket of the match in the 13th over, Shashank Singh (41 off 25 balls). Ashutosh Sharma (61 off 28 balls) and Harpreet Brar (21 off 20 balls) then gave the Kings a new lease of life, but their successive wickets in the final overs swung the match in MI's favour, eventually sealing a 9-run victory.


You are on Mint! India's #1 news destination (Source: Press Gazette). To learn more about our business coverage and market insights Click Here!

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Catch the live action on IPL 2024 with the complete IPL Schedule, and their IPL Points Table, also know who currently holds the IPL Purple Cap and IPL Orange Cap. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Published: 19 Apr 2024, 07:47 AM IST
Next Story footLogo
Recommended For You