1 min read.Updated: 06 Feb 2019, 04:50 PM ISTLivemint
To permanently delete a message, you'll select the messages to be deleted and then tap on Remove for Everyone in the message options
This comes a year after Mark Zuckerberg was found permanently deleting his messages amidst the Cambridge Analytica scandal
Facebook has started rolling out an update that lets you permanently delete a message that you accidentally sent to a contact in Messenger. The reaction time, however, is set to 10 minutes of sending the message.
To permanently delete a message, you'll select the messages to be deleted and then tap on Remove for Everyone in the message options. The removed message will be replaced by an alert telling everyone in the chat that it's been deleted. This works in groups as well as one-on-one conversations.
This feature has already been around on messenger in the "Secret conversation" mode in the form of a timer function that users can use to set messages to delete themselves after a specified amount of time.
Interestingly, this comes a year after Facebook founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg was found permanently deleting his messages amidst the Cambridge Analytica scandal. This was seen as a breach of trust been Facebook executives and users and so, in an interview with TechCrunch, Facebook revealed its plans to introduce this feature soon to everyone.
We can also see this as the next step in the unification of Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp messengers as Instagram and WhatsApp already have had this functionality for quite a while.
After the unification takes place, a Facebook user, for instance, will be able send an encrypted message to someone who has only a WhatsApp account.
Facebook is still in the early stages of unification and plans to complete it by the end of this year or in early 2020.