Gmail by far is the most used mail service in the world right now, and practically everyone owns at least one Gmail account. Surely, mailing service is much more secure than other social media platforms, especially for documentation purposes when sharing confidential information or even personal data. For these reasons, Google's popular mail platform has constantly been enhancing its functions and providing users with faster, easier and more efficient features to make their emails organised and safe.

Here are some of the little known Gmail features to make your life simpler:

Faster, easier email search:

Gmail is rolling out a new feature that will help you find old emails in a jiffy. The new feature will enable users to filter search results in a more efficient way to dig out an older mail from your never-ending Inbox mails. Unlike the earlier search feature where you searched for a particular mail with certain keywords or words from the content on the search bar, this new search feature will give you an added, more customised search result box.

The feature rolled out on 19 February to users of G Suite and is gradually rolling out to users globally
The feature rolled out on 19 February to users of G Suite and is gradually rolling out to users globally


As seen in the screenshot, you may choose to search in the wold manner, or help locate a specific mail by inserting a bit more information about the earlier mail in the dropbox, such as file size, predicted date of reception, and the address of the sender, option to search with or without attachments etc. The feature rolled out on 19 February to users of G Suite. Others will find the new features embedded to their desktop and mobile apps within 15 days.

Schedule emails:

Certain information if shared before the right time can end you in a fix. Be it sensitive information of utmost importance or embargoed, Gmail provides you with an option to schedule emails. And using the feature couldn't get any easier.

To schedule an email to send to a later time or even a later date, simply click on compose to write the mail or even attach documents that you want to share only after a certain time. Once your email is ready, instead of clicking on the send button, which obviously will send the mail right away, click on the down arrow button right adjacent to the Send option. The arrow will then show you the option "Schedule Send".Via this option, you can set the date and time of sending the email. The option is also available on the Gmail app on Android and iOS smartphones. To schedule mails from the app on your phone, tap the three dots in the top-right corner of the compose screen and choose “Schedule send" from the drop-down menu.

Go confidential:

Personal mails, confidential information and other sorts of sensitive matter shared over social media can have a high potentiality of being exposed if misused by others. However, Google has one important Gmail feature to protect your mails from the horror of being misused.

Known as the 'Confidential Mode', the feature is reflected once you click on the 'Compose Mail' option. It is available for all Gmail users - both GSuite administrators and other users.

The Confidential Mode looks like a timer icon.
The Confidential Mode looks like a timer icon. (Google)

Elaborating on the feature, Google in its blog says, "recipients of messages in confidential mode don't have the option to forward, copy, print, or download messages, including attachments. Users can set a message expiration date, revoke message access at any time, and require an SMS verification code to access messages." In addition to that, you can set a message expiration date and require an SMS verification code for recipients to access messages.

To use the confidential mode before sending a mail, follow these steps:

-Log into your Gmail account or Gmail app.

-Click Compose.

-In the bottom right of the window, click Turn on confidential mode. The icon looks like a little timer and comes along with the other icons such as format, attach etc.

Unsend emails:

Sent an email to a wrong person or regret sending one at the wrong time cause you were clouded by your thoughts? Bith the scenarios can be really embarrassing for you and somewhat, for the receiver too. For times like these, Gmail comes to the rescue with this wonderful option that lets you un-send those wrongly intended mails. But you got to be quick with the feature.

The feature lets you choose how long you want the cancellation period: 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds
The feature lets you choose how long you want the cancellation period: 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds


To use the un-send mail feature, you need to first enable it on your Gmail. To enable the option, go to the top right corner of the screen and hit the gear button, where you'll find the "Settings" option. Then, scroll down until you see "Undo Send: and check the box that says "Enable Undo Send." You can also choose how long you want the cancellation period: 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds. The longer you choose, the longer you'll have to decide if you want to unsend an email after you've pressed send. After selecting the time period, hit "Save Changes" to save the settings.

Once you have enabled this feature, Gmail will give you an added notification of unsend along with the message "Your message has been sent". You will be able to hit unsend for the particular period of time that you have chosen the option to be visible to you and Gmail will unsend the email as desired.

Close
× My Reads Logout