How to clear Facebook history, disconnect third-party apps, sites2 min read . Updated: 29 Jan 2020, 05:28 PM IST
- Facebook first promised the feature to clear off-Facebook activity back in 2018
- The option is now available for all users around the world
Starting today, you can finally delete your Facebook history, or precisely, force Facebook to clear your off-Facebook activity that is garnered by the third-party apps which you might have provided while signing in via Facebook.
Clearing off-Facebook activity means that you can clear or manage what information the third-party sites such as payment apps, news sites, and other online services have been sharing about you with Facebook for ad targeting purposes.
Facebook first promised the feature back in 2018.
In a post on the website's platform, Mark Zuckerberg shared:
“Today at our F8 conference I'm going to discuss a new privacy control we're building called "Clear History"... You’ll be able to see information about the apps and websites you’ve interacted with, and you’ll be able to clear this information from your account. You’ll even be able to turn off having this information stored with your account."
Through the post, he also shared that this process is similar to clearing your cookies, cache and history. This essentially means that when you use this feature, you will be forcing the platform to re-learn everything about you and your preferences.
According to a 9to5Mac report, Facebook first implemented the feature on trail basis in in Ireland, South Korea, and Spain. However, the option is now available for all users around the world.
In a blog post, Facebook stated, "Introducing Off-Facebook Activity. A new tool that gives you more control of your data. Control is important to you, especially when it comes to your data. Which is why you’re seeing changes in how you view and manage your information on Facebook."
You see it: View a summary of information that Facebook receives about your activity on other apps and websites.
You control it: If you’d like, you can disconnect that information from your account, and it will not be associated with you personally.
Here's how you can clear off-Facebook activity:
The option to manage or clear off-Facebook activity is quite simple:
-Tap on the bottom right menu button
-Go to Settings & Privacy
-Tap on Settings
-Scroll down to the Your Facebook Information sub-head
-Tap Off-Facebook Activity
Once you are in, you will be able to see all the apps that are sharing your information with Facebook and you may either clear them all or manage the off-Facebook activity.
If you clear the data, will it also reduce the number of ads on the app? Facebook, in its log clarifies that the number of ads would not reduce, sadly. "you'll still see the same number of ads. The ads that you will see may be less personalised to you."
However, the option has a catch. Disconnecting yourself from the app will not delete it entirely. "The information you disconnect will no longer be connected to your account. This data can still be used without being linked to an individual user to allow us to let businesses know how their website, app or ads are performing.," Facebook clarifies.