OPEN APP
Home >Technology >App News >WhatsApp 'Disappearing Messages' feature now in India: How to enable on Android, iOS
WhatsApp new 'Disappearing Messages' feature is available for individual as well as group chats (WhatsApp )
WhatsApp new 'Disappearing Messages' feature is available for individual as well as group chats (WhatsApp )

WhatsApp 'Disappearing Messages' feature now in India: How to enable on Android, iOS

  • WhatsApp had earlier announced that the feature is now official and will be rolled out to its users 'during this month'
  • 'Disappearing Messages' feature is available on all WhatsApp-supported devices including Android, iOS, and Linux-based KaiOS devices, along with WhatsApp Web and Desktop platform

After weeks of officially launching the much-awaited 'Disappearing Messages' feature with a time limit of seven days before the message gets automatically deleted, WhatsApp recently released the update for its Indian users.

The Facebook-owned messaging app had earlier announced that the feature is now official and will be rolled out to its 2-billion plus users "during this month."

The 'Disappearing Messages' feature is available for individual as well as group chats. However, in group chats, only the group admins will be able to enable disappearing messages in group chats.

The feature is available on all WhatsApp-supported devices including Android, iOS, and Linux-based KaiOS devices, along with WhatsApp Web and Desktop platform.

Once the Disappearing Messages feature is on, the selection controls all messages in the chat thereafter. "This setting won’t affect messages you previously sent or received in the chat," WhatsApp said in its support page.

Disappearing messages will also wipe out photos and videos after seven days, and while messages will disappear for both parties it’s still possible to take screenshots or just simply copy messages before they are automatically deleted. Or, you can also save the photos or other content with auto-download on. You can turn auto-download off in WhatsApp Settings > Data and Storage Usage.

If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the seven-day period, the message will disappear. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.

Moreover, if a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat. Also, if a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup.

How to enable WhatsApp Disappearing messages feature on Android and iOS smartphones:

Open the WhatsApp chat on your Android or iOS devices.

Tap the contact’s name.

Along with the contact's information, you will also find an option of Tap Disappearing messages, right above the "Encryption" of the messages option.

Once you have tapped on it, select on.

It will switch on the disappearing messages option for the particular chat.

How to switch off Disappearing Messages feature on Android and iOS devices:

Once disabled, messages sent in the chat will no longer disappear.

Open the WhatsApp chat.

Tap the contact’s name.

Tap Disappearing messages.

Select Off.

How to use WhatsApp disappearing messages on KaiOS:

Open the WhatsApp chat.

Press Options > View Contact > OK.

Select Disappearing Messages and press on Edit.

If prompted, press Next > OK. You then need to select On and then press on OK.

An important thing to note here is that once Disappearing Messages feature is on, there, however, is no option of customizing the time frame after which the messages will be deleted.

WhatsApp has also been enhancing its app for its business users.

Recently, WhatsApp added a new shopping button on its app to make it easier for people to discover a business' catalog to get information about the goods and services offered by the firm.

It added that the Facebook-owned company is rolling out a new shopping button on WhatsApp to make it easier for people to discover a business' catalog so they know what goods or services it offers. Previously, people had to click into the business' profile to see if the business had a catalog.

The new shopping button is available now across the world and will replace the voice call button, it added. To find the voice call button, users can tap on the call button to select either a voice or video call.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperMint is now on Telegram. Join Mint channel in your Telegram and stay updated with the latest business news.

Close
×
Edit Profile
My Reads Redeem a Gift Card Logout