Instant messaging platform WhatsApp on Wednesday announced a new feature that allows users to decide who can add them to groups.

This feature is available to all WhatsApp versions and can be accessed by opening Settings and then tapping on Account > Privacy > Groups. You can then select one of three options: “Nobody," “My Contacts," or “Everyone."

“Nobody" means you'll have to approve joining every group to which you're invited, and “My Contacts" means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups

In those cases, the person inviting you to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving you the choice of joining the group. You'll have three days to accept the invite before it expires.

WhatsApp believes that with these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive.

The new privacy settings will begin rolling out to some users starting today and will be available worldwide in the coming weeks to those using the latest version of WhatsApp.

WhatsApp has been pretty active with its beta programme for both, iPhone and Android platforms. The instant messaging app has introduced several features and improvement on its beta version including consecutive voice messages, dark mode, picture-in-picture (PiP) and biometric authorisation. You can try them out by becoming a beta tester by clicking here. Do bear in mind that this is not a stable version of WhatsApp and is susceptible to bugs and crashes.

Close