- WhatsApp had faced severe backlash over user concerns that data was being shared with parent company Facebook
WhatsApp had faced severe backlash over user concerns that data was being shared with parent company Facebook.
A WhatsApp spokesperson said that no accounts will be deleted on 15 May for not accepting the policy update.
"No accounts will be deleted on May 15 because of this update and no one in India will lose functionality of WhatsApp either. We will follow up with reminders to people over the next several weeks," the spokesperson said on Friday.
"We've spent the last few months working to clear up confusion and misinformation. As a reminder, this update does not impact the privacy of personal messages for anyone. Our goal is to provide information about new options we are building that people will have, to message a business on WhatsApp, in the future," the spokesperson stated.
The company spokesperson added: "While the majority of users who have received the new terms of service have accepted them, we appreciate some people haven’t had the chance to do so yet."
Keep in mind that your private messages remain end-to-end encrypted and therefore are still secure, and will continue to be, after WhatsApp’s new policy comes into place.
Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!