Rajya Sabha Elections News


Manmohan Singh elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Manmohan Singh was declared elected unopposed as the deadline for the withdrawal of nominations for the bypoll ended at 3 pmThe Former prime minister was a member of the Upper House of Parliament from Assam for almost three decades

1 min read19 Aug 2019

It would be better if Rajya Sabha can also scrutinize money bills: P.J. Kurien

Outgoing Rajya Sabha deputy chairman P.J. Kurien on the election to the post, his tenure, parliamentary disruptions and need for more powers to the Upper House of Parliament

5 min read30 Jul 2018

Jaya Bachchan, 13 others take Rajya Sabha oath

Actor-turned-parliamentarian Jaya Bachchan, BJP's Bhupendra Yadav were among a dozen newly elected or re-elected members of the Rajya Sabha who took the oath of office today

1 min read4 Apr 2018

How BJP+ went from 65 seats to 88 seats in Rajya Sabha in 4 years

The BJP's fast-expanding electoral footprint in the country has helped increase its share of Rajya Sabha seats from 27% in 2014 to 36% now

1 min read26 Mar 2018

BJP wins 28 out of 59 seats in Rajya Sabha elections, NDA still short of majority

The BJP accounted for 16 out of 33 Rajya Sabha seats that were won unopposed and won 12 out of 26 seats that went to polls on Friday

3 min read24 Mar 2018

UP Rajya Sabha elections on Friday, Arun Jaitley among candidates

The BJP is assured of victory in eight of the 10 Rajya Sabha seats going by its dominant numbers in the Uttar Pradesh assembly along with its allies

2 min read22 Mar 2018

Rajya Sabha set to reflect BJP’s new political clout

Rajya Sabha elections are likely to raise BJP's strength in the Upper House while the Congress could witness a further erosion

3 min read22 Mar 2018

CPM alleges Abhishek Manu Singhvi’s Rajya Sabha nomination flawed

CPM says the date of birth given in the Rajya Sabha nomination papers was at variance with what Congress spokesperson Abhishek Manu Singhvi had said in 2006

1 min read21 Mar 2018

No decision on disqualification of JD(S) MLAs

The JD(S), led by former PM Deve Gowda, had sought disqualification of seven of its members for violating the party whip and for voting against the party's candidate, B.M.Farooq, in the 2016 Rajya Sabha elections

1 min read20 Mar 2018

Congress, BJP call off fight for Gujarat Rajya Sabha seats as four win unopposed

Union ministers Parshottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandaviya of the BJP and Naran Rathwa and Amee Yajnik of the Congress were elected unopposed

1 min read15 Mar 2018
Load More

Popular Topics


The Union Budget contains details about the estimated receipts and the expenditure of the government for a particular fiscal year. The Budget is allotted for the upcoming fiscal year, which runs from 1st April to 31st March of the next year. Here is a quick guide on how the Union Budget is prepared

25 Articles


Shares of Infosys were up by 0.43% at closing.

9 Articles